Who We Are


Communities in Schools national was established in 1977 (then called Cities in Schools). Today Communities in Schools is the nation’s leading community-based organization in dropout prevention. There are currently 25 states with Communities in Schools Programs. Texas is the largest program in the national Communities in Schools network.

The first Texas Communities in Schools program was established in 1979 in Houston.

Communities in Schools of East Texas, Inc.(a non-profit 501© 3) was founded in 1995 with the Deep East Texas program added in 1999.

Organizational Structure

National Level: Communities In Schools, Inc., (National Office) requires each state to follow an organizational structure that has proven to ensure successful state and local programs. The National Communities In Schools office has a board of directors. The National Office enters into written agreements with each state.

State Level- Legislative: Communities In Schools of Texas State Advisory Committee (CISSAC) was established by the legislature with nine members appointed by the Governor, Lt. Governor and Speaker of the House. The committee advises and provides guidance to the CIS State Office.

State Level- State Office: Communities In Schools of Texas, State Office is administered by the Texas Education Agency. The role of the State Office is to administer the Communities in Schools programs statewide according to legislation, program model, and National Communities in Schools Office requirements.

Local Level: 501©(3) Board of Directors: Each local Communities in Schools program must have a local Board of Directors. This board administers the Communities In Schools program at local levels through contracts with the state.

School District and Campus Level: Local Communities In Schools programs partner with school districts through written agreements to provide services to selected schools.